IN SHAWNEE, OKLAHOMA
According to statistics from the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting Program, there were 156 reported cases of violent crimes in Shawnee, Oklahoma in 2019, including 117 aggravated assault incidents. A person can be charged with assault in Oklahoma for threatening or attempting to cause physical injury or harm to another person. These charges include simple assault, assault and battery, and aggravated assault.
If you're under investigation for committing an assault offense, or if you have been arrested and charged with an assault crime, it is vital that you retain an aggressive Oklahoma criminal defense attorney to outline your defense strategy. At Wilson Law Firm PLLC, I am dedicated to offering experienced legal guidance and reliable representation to clients in assault-related matters. I can investigate every last detail of your case, craft a strong defense, and help fight your charges.
I was a part-time assistant district attorney for two years prosecuting and convicting at jury trial major crimes like murder, manslaughter, negligent homicide, assault, battery with great bodily injury, rape, and child sexual abuse cases. Although I left to start a private practice, I have a unique perspective and thorough experience of how to defend criminal defense cases.
My firm, Wilson Law Firm PLLC, proudly serves clients across Shawnee, Oklahoma, and the surrounding communities of Okemah, Chandler, Norman, and Ada. Call me today to schedule a consultation to discuss your case.
Assault Charges in Oklahoma
According to Oklahoma Statutes Section 21-641, assault is defined as any willful, intentional, or unlawful attempt to inflict corporal harm on another person. Assault can be categorized into simple assault, assault and battery, and aggravated assault and battery.
Simple Assault (or Assault)
Under Oklahoma law, a person may be charged with simple assault (or assault) if they threaten or attempts to inflict physical harm or injury on another person.
Simple assault is a misdemeanor charge, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for up to 30 days, a maximum fine of $500, or both.
Assault and Battery
A person may be charged with assault and battery if the act of committing assault ends up in a battery. Battery involves the intentional use of force against another person, thereby causing harm to the victim. For instance, threatening to hit or strike a person is assault. If the defendant ends up striking the victim after issuing the threat, they may then be charged with assault and battery.
Misdemeanor assault and battery is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for up to 90 days, a maximum fine of $1,000, or both.
According to Oklahoma Statutes Section 21-644 (C), any person who commits an assault and battery against a current or former intimate partner or a family or household member can be charged with domestic abuse.
Domestic abuse is a felony charge, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year, a maximum fine of $5,000, or both. A second domestic violence conviction is punishable by up to four years in the custody of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections, a maximum fine of $5,000, or both.
Aggravated Assault and Battery
Pursuant to Oklahoma Statutes Section 21-646, assault and battery offense becomes aggravated when committed under any of the following circumstances:
When significant bodily harm is inflicted upon the person assaulted
When the act is committed by a person of robust health or strength upon a person who is aged, decrepit, or incapacitated.
Under Oklahoma Statutes Section 21-646 (B), “great bodily injury” can include:
Protracted and obvious disfigurement
Protracted loss or impairment of the function of a body part, organ, or mental faculty
Substantial risk of death
Aggravated assault and battery is punishable by up to five years in a state penitentiary, a fine of up to $500, or both.
Abuse of a Pregnant Woman
According to Oklahoma Statutes Section 21-644 (E), any person convicted of domestic abuse committed against a pregnant woman with knowledge of the pregnancy can be charged with a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year.
Why Choosing the Right Attorney is Important
Your decision to defend your assault allegations alone could put you at greater risk of being convicted. If convicted, you could be facing severe punishment, including hefty fines, prison sentences, a permanent criminal record, and other social ramifications. When facing assault charges, retaining a knowledgeable Oklahoma criminal defense attorney is crucial to protect your rights.
For more than two decades, I have been defending clients facing various assault allegations. As your legal counsel, I will review all of the details of your case, carry out a comprehensive investigation, and identify the best defense strategy to pursue a favorable outcome.
ASSAULT ATTORNEY SERVING SHAWNEE, OKLAHOMA
If you are facing assault charges, don't face them alone. Call my firm — Wilson Law Firm PLLC — today to schedule a one-on-one case assessment. I can fight aggressively to protect your rights and offer you the experienced legal guidance and reliable representation you need. My firm is proud to represent clients throughout Shawnee, Okemah, Chandler, Norman, and Ada, OK.